BACK IN BALI

Bali is referred to as the ‘island of the gods’ and after spending only a few minutes there you can sense why. She is a magical island for sure. I felt it the moment I arrived there last November. I spent a month there and she became more enchanting, more intoxicating with each passing day – so much so that I skipped my original flight out to stay an extra week. I got a taste of the sweet nectar of inspiration and healing that Bali has to offer and I was hooked. Back at home for the holidays and trying to plan my next move, I couldn’t get this enchantress of an island off my mind. I had a serve case of ‘Bali brain’.

Bali has a very alluring power. She will call certain people. Ask any westerner living in Bali and you will get their personal account of how they were meant to come to Bali for a 2-week vacation, ended up staying, and that was 5 years ago… It’s more common than not you will hear a story similar to that if you randomly survey the community. I, too, got the calling to return and I honored it. It’s not wise to ignore the lure of Bali.


I knew I couldn’t possibly do anything else without getting back to Bali and spending some more time there.  I booked my ticket for the end of February, and I just finished spending a month there.

Was it as magical as I had built it up to be in mind? No – it was more, so much more. The moment I stepped foot back on the sacred ground of Ubud, my soul felt at home. It took a huge sigh of relief and thanked me profusely. 


During my first trip to Bali, I traveled around the island a little, but my favorite place was Ubud. This time around, I decided I was going to just post up there for the whole month. I was ready to immerse myself in its unique healing energy. Ubud gets its name from the Balinese word ‘ubad’, which literally means ‘medicine’. That is exactly what Ubud is, medicine, for the body, mind and especially the soul.

The sacred vibration of this island is very unique. The beautiful Balinese people are very spiritual and dedicated to their daily offerings to the gods. Those prayers, those intentions hold immense power. They uplift the energy of the land. You can really feel it. They raise the collective frequency through their devotion.


Being in Ubud has made me feel more alive than any other time in my life. The range and intensity of emotions I have experienced here made me realize, ‘Oh this is what it means to be alive, to be human. This it was it means for a soul to have a human experience.’ Ubud has cracked my heart wide open. It has been uplifting, devastating, overwhelming, eye-opening, energizing, vulnerable, scary, thrilling, exhilarating, frustrating, powerful and confusing. Overall, it has been the best time of my life.

Ubud is inland, so it does not offer beautiful beaches and epic sunsets, but what it does offer is far more enchanting. Some people who haven’t discovered the pure magic of Ubud asked me what I could possibly be doing in Ubud for a month… Equally confused but for the opposite reason, I reply what haven’t I been doing.

First off, I spent my days nourishing and fueling my body with some of the most beautiful whole, healthy, and vibrant foods mother earth has to offer. There is no shortage of fresh fruits, veggies, super foods, elixirs, coconuts, kombucha, smoothies, juices – you name it.


I spent my days attending classes, healing sessions, workshops, circles, rituals and ceremonies exploring a wide range of healing modalities, topics and medicines – singing, dancing, remembering my personal power and divinity and the sacredness of this beautiful life.


I spent my days clearing, releasing and creating space. Space for the Divine to fill, space to plant seeds of intention, space for manifestation. I spent my days feeling lighter, airier, smiling more, singing in the streets, dancing with every movement, soaring with love in my heart and practically floating from one place to the next.

I spent my days meeting and connecting with some powerful and beautiful souls who are offering their unique gifts and medicine and truly healing this world.


I spent my days being showered with creativity, catching the ideas and inspiration that were falling into my lap and swirling through my mind, harnessing the confidence in my ability to manifest them. Bali is very fertile ground, the sacred land of creativity, inspiration, and manifestation. Being surrounded by lush greenery and growth, Bali is a beautiful place to plant seeds and watch them blossom.


I spent my last week volunteering at the annual Bali Spirit Festival, a week-long festival of yoga, meditation, breath work, music, dance, movement, spirituality, ceremonies, celebration and love. It was an amazing experience. I spent my mornings checking people into classes and then had the rest of the day/night to enjoy myself and partake in the festival. I learned the beautiful art of thai massage. I reconnected with my inner child and laughed my ass off at ‘laughter yoga’. I cleared and activated my chakras through dance. I explored movement and touch through contact dance. I went on powerful healing journeys through breath work.I attended one of the most powerful kundalini classes. I traveled through time and space with crystal sound healing. I gazed into the depth of the human soul through meaningful eye contact. I reconnected with people I met last time I was in Bali. I met new wonderful and beautiful souls, that I hope to connect with again. I chanted and sang my heart out. I drank in the benefits of cacao at multiple ceremonies. I listened to powerful and incredibly soulful music. I danced myself into ecstasy. I reclaimed my birthright to be beautiful, bountiful and blissful. I broke down barriers and felt the interconnectedness and oneness of all life across all cultures.


But most importantly, I spent my days in Ubud, falling in love. Falling wildly, crazy, madly in love with my very beautiful and divine life.


I was sad to leave Bali, but if there is one thing I am certain about in this life, is that I will be back, soon….

4 Comments Add yours

  1. kamshenry says:

    Colleen, I came across a reading from An Almanac for the Soul that seems meant for you: “I have an idea that some people are born out of their due place. Accident has cast them amid certain surroundings, but they have always nostalgia for a home they know not. They are strangers in their birthplace, and the leafy lanes they have known from childhood or the populous streets in which they have played, remain but a place of passage. They may spend their whole lives aliens among their kindred and remain aloof among the only scenes they have ever known. Perhaps it is this sense of strangeness that sends people far and wide in the search for something permanent to which they may attach themselves. Perhaps some deep-rooted atavism urges the wanderers back to lands which their ancestors left in the dim beginnings of history. Sometimes we hit upon a place to which we mysteriously feel that we belong. Here is the home we sought, and we will settle amid scenes that we have never seen before, among people we have never known, as though they were familiar to us from our birth. Here at last we find rest.” W. Somerset Maugham, The Moon and Sixpence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! That is so spot on, thank you for sharing that with me Aunt Karen! I love that passage and it definitely resonates with me on a deep level. Ubud has become a home away from home for me, holding a very special place in my heart.

      Like

  2. Judy says:

    I, too, have always felt a pull towards Bali – I hope one day to experience the wonders you have described so vividly. After reading Karen’s comment, I have to agree with all she wrote in reference to your total connectedness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You will join me in Bali one of these trips Mama! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

