BALI

I arrived in Bali and headed straight down to Uluwatu, a laid back beach town in the south of Bali. With not much sleep and feeling pretty exhausted, I napped out by my hostel’s pool, until my room was ready. After I fit in a little bit of sleep and some breakfast, I was ready to adventure the town via scooter.

I came across this beautiful surf beach, Blue Point Beach. There was a visually stunning restaurant, Single Fin, up on the cliffs that overlooked the ocean. It wasn’t really a beach you could relax on, it was mostly just for surfing, so i enjoyed an ahi tuna bowl (very delicious) overlooking the crystal clear blue water. Then I made my way to a beach, Padang Padang, that I could relax on. Scenes from Eat, Pray, Love were said to be filmed at this beach. It was so peaceful. Not many people at all, white sands, teal water and the perfect palm tree to curl up under to read and journal.

Later that evening I went to the Uluwatu temple, Pura Luhur, situated up on the cliffs, 230 feet above sea level for the sunset. It was stunning. A pretty pastel sunset that evening.

I couldn’t help but wonder what watching the sunset was like before social media existed. Everyone now just snaps away taking picture after selfie after more selfies during the sunset. Don’t get me wrong I’m a sucker for a good sunset picture as well, but one is all you need. You don’t need a million pictures in a row of the exact same thing. And you certainly don’t need a half a million pictures of your head smack dab in the middle of a perfectly beautiful sunset. Every sunset is uniquely stunning and I honestly feel like you can never truly capture its grand magnificence anyway so just snap one or two pictures for the memory and then sit back and enjoy it. Sunsets are a beautiful reminder to your soul of the sun fulfilling its promise to set and rise every day, no matter what.

The next morning I went to check out another beautiful beach, Nyang Nyang. It was quite the steep trek down to it through a foresty jungle but it was worth it. There wasn’t a single soul down there but me. A little eerie, but also super relaxing. I spent the rest of the day there and then headed up to Seminyak for a few nights.

Seminyak is a little more central. Not as touristy and build up as Kuta or Denspar, but still a little more touristy than I cared for.

The first night there I enjoyed the sunset down at this well known little beach bar, La Plancha. Relaxing on one of their multi-colored bean bags, under a matching multi-colored umbrella, enjoying some delicious ahi tuna and listening to an awesome collection of tropical house remixes – it was a beautiful evening.

The next day was overcast so I decided to saunter around town and window shop. Seminyak is filled with adorable little shops with the cutest decor and displays.

The next day Eric was arriving in Bali. We had a chill day of exploring a little and then the next morning we were off to Nusa Lembongan, a little island off of Bali, to celebrate Thanksgiving. We originally wanted to head out to the Gili Islands, but due to a bit of a time crunch we figured Nusa would be easier. 


Nusa Lembongan was a little paradise. It was a small little island, only one ATM in fact – which turned out not to take visa… but that’s a story for another time. I loved the vibe of Nusa Lembongan, very laid back, very chill. Our very adorable bungalow was a quick walk away from the beach, which we explored before dinner. We tried our best not to think about all the turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy and all the other mouth watering Thanksgiving foods we were missing. While we were both a little bummed to not be home celebrating the holiday with our families, we did acknowledge that we had a lot to be thankful for this year. 

Our days at Nusa Lembongan were spent exploring this picturesque little island, soaking up the sun at basically deserted beautiful beaches, eating, snorkeling and enjoying one of the most epic sunsets I’ve ever experienced. It was as if I was inside the sunset, looking around in all directions in awe. It felt like a nice little vacation from our demanding lives as backpackers, haha. Thank you God for allowing us to enjoy this beautiful little sliver of your creativity.

From Nusa we went to Ubud. I had a two week retreat starting there the next day. I was excited and a little nervous, not knowing what to expect. Little did I know this retreat would be completely life-changing (spoiler alert).


Leave a Reply

